Photography Books

Some of the greatest photographers in the world have occupied our shelves and here is an example of some them and their images.

(If you are in the Los Angeles area make it a point to come by the store, there are plenty of sale book that are not on the website.)

Aperture 223: Summer 2016: Vision & Justice Cover Image
By Sarah Lewis (Editor)
$24.95
ISBN: 9781597113656
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Aperture - May 24th, 2016

As the United States navigates a political moment defined by the close of the Obama era and the rise of #BlackLivesMatter activism, Aperture magazine releases "Vision & Justice," a special issue guest edited by Sarah Lewis, the distinguished author and art historian, addressing the role of photography in the African American experience.


Staff Pick Logo
Blue Note Cover Image
By Michael Cuscuna, Michael Cuscuna (Text by (Art/Photo Books)), Francis Wolff (Photographer)
$49.95
ISBN: 9782080202208
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Flammarion-Pere Castor - October 6th, 2015

One hundred and fifty exceptional photographs from the golden age of the legendary Blue Note Jazz Label.

Frances Wolff, photographer and producer, co-founded and ran Blue Note from 1939 unti his death in 1971.

Michael Cuscuna, a musician producer, joined Blue Note in 1984, where he produces recordings and manges the label's reissues.


Jazz: The Iconic Images of Ted Williams Cover Image
$75.00
ISBN: 9781851498277
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Acc Publishing Group Ltd - September 13th, 2016

Most  of Ted Williams' archive, comprising both original negatives and photographs, has never been seen before - until now. This book celebrates Williams' Jazz photography, one of the richest unseen archives from the jazz era. It's an archive that charts the sweep of Jazz and the creative souls who brought the art form to life during the heart of the twentieth century.


AFROS: A Celebration Of Natural Hair  Cover Image
ISBN: 9780578090221
Availability: Special Order
Published: Natural Light Press - August 18th, 2013

One of the few self-published photography books. Michael July has done an excellent job of chronicling and celebrating natural hair.


Staff Pick Logo
Misty Copeland: Power and Grace Cover Image
By Richard Corman, Richard Corman (Photographer), Cindy Bradley (Introduction by)
$24.99
ISBN: 9780692506776
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Michael Friedman Group Inc. - August 17th, 2015

Misty is one of the phenomenal talents of this era and just a wonderful young lady. It's been Eso Wons' pleasure to carry books by and about her.


Separate Cinema: The First 100 Years of Black Poster Art Cover Image
By John Kisch (Editor), Tony Nourmand (Editor), Henry Louis Gates (Foreword by)
$75.00
ISBN: 9781909526068
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Reel Art Press - October 20th, 2014

This magnificent volume is a celebration of the first 100 years of black film poster art.


Harlem: The Vision of Morgan and Marvin Smith Cover Image
ISBN: 9780813120294
Availability: Special Order
Published: University Press of Kentucky - November 13th, 1997

In 1933, Morgan and Marvin Smith, twin sons of sharecroppers from Kentucky, arrived in Harlem. Despite the hardships of the Great Depression, they found a flourishing arts community and quickly established their place as visual chroniclers of the life of the city. For thirty years, the Smiths used their cameras to record the achievements of blacks in the face of poverty and discrimination.


Cuba:: A Personal Journey 1989-2015 Cover Image
By Manuello Paganelli (Photographer)
ISBN: 9781942084235
Availability: Special Order
Published: Daylight Books - November 29th, 2016

"Working in the tradition of Cartier-Bresson and Robert Frank, Paganelli brings an artist's eyes and a native son's sensibility to his superb photographs."Frank Van Riper, The Washington Post


Blue Note: Uncompromising Expression Cover Image
$85.00
ISBN: 9781452141442
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Chronicle Books - November 11th, 2014

Purveyor of extraordinary music and an arbiter of cool, Blue Note is the definitive jazz label signing the best artists, pioneering the best recording techniques, and lead cover design trends with punchy, iconic artwork and typography that shaped the way we see the music itself.


Michael Jackson: Rewind: The Life and Legacy of Pop Music's King Cover Image
$40.00
ISBN: 9781631062537
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Race Point Publishing - October 15th, 2016

Relive the incredible history of the King of Pop - in reverse - with Michael Jackson: Rewind.


Freedom: A Photographic History of the African American Struggle Cover Image
ISBN: 9780714845173
Availability: Special Order
Published: Phaidon Press - April 2005

A photographic history of the African struggle from the 19th century to the present. The book includes 500 photographs, some previously unpublished.


Carrie Mae Weems: Kitchen Table Series Cover Image
By Carrie Weems (Photographer), Sarah Lewis (Text by (Art/Photo Books)), Adrienne Edwards (Text by (Art/Photo Books))
$50.00
ISBN: 9788862084628
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Damiani - April 26th, 2016

Kitchen Table Series is the first publication dedicated solely to this early and important body of work by the American artist Carrie Mae Weems. The 20 photographs and 14 text panels that make up Kitchen Table Series tell a story of one woman's life, as conducted in the intimate setting of her kitchen.


And Still We Rise: Race, Culture and Visual Conversations Cover Image
$34.99
ISBN: 9780764349287
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Schiffer Publishing - April 28th, 2015

Parchman Cover Image
By R. Kim Rushing, Mark Goodman (Foreword by)
$50.00
ISBN: 9781496806512
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: University Press of Mississippi - October 13th, 2016

Constructed in 1904, the Mississippi State Penitentiary at Parchman covers 20,000 acres, forty-six square miles, in the heart of the Mississippi Delta. Originally designed like a private plantation without walls or guard towers, the prison farm has been slowly transformed over the decades into a modern penitentiary. In 1994, photographer R.


Muhammad Ali Unfiltered: Rare, Iconic, and Officially Authorized Photos of the Greatest Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781501161940
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Gallery/Jeter Publishing - October 25th, 2016

THE FIGHTER. THE ACTIVIST. THE MAN. THE ICON. An officially authorized collection, Muhammad Ali Unfiltered is Jeter Publishing's intimate look at one of the most inspiring figures of our age. Celebrate the life of Muhammad Ali in these 200-plus pages of images, quotes, and tributes to the Greatest of All Time.


The Official Treasures of Muhammad Ali Cover Image
By Gavin Newsham, Ali Muhammad (Foreword by)
$34.95
ISBN: 9781847326713
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Carlton Books - October 5th, 2010

I am the greatest, declared Muhammad Ali-and he backed up his words with actions. Not only was he the finest heavyweight boxer ever to step into the ring, he was also a compelling and controversial figure outside of it.


Muhammad Ali: Fighter's Heaven 1974: Photographs by Peter Angelo Simon Cover Image
By Peter Simon (Foreword by), D. A. Pennebaker (Foreword by)
$49.95
ISBN: 9781909526389
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Reel Art Press - August 23rd, 2016

In this previously unpublished photo-essay, the legendary boxer Muhammed Ali is captured up close and unguarded in the run-up to the "Rumble in the Jungle"


Power to the People: The World of the Black Panthers Cover Image
By Stephen Shames (Photographer), Bobby Seale
$40.00
ISBN: 9781419722400
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: ABRAMS - October 18th, 2016

In words and photographs, Power to the People is the story of the controversial Black Panther Party, founded 50 years ago in 1966 by Bobby Seale and Huey P. Newton.


The Art of the Blues: A Visual Treasury of Black Music's Golden Age Cover Image
$35.00
ISBN: 9780226396699
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: University of Chicago Press - November 2016

This stunning book charts the rich history of the blues, through the dazzling array of posters, album covers, and advertisements that have shaped its identity over the past hundred years. The blues have been one of the most ubiquitous but diverse elements of American popular music at large, and the visual art associated with this unique sound has been just as varied and dynamic.


Without Sanctuary: Lynching Photography in America Cover Image
$75.00
ISBN: 9780944092699
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Twin Palms Publishers - January 2000

Frequently reissued with the same ISBN, but with slightly differing bibliographical details.


Natural Fashion: Tribal Decoration from Africa Cover Image
$29.95
ISBN: 9780500288054
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Thames & Hudson - April 27th, 2009

The nomadic people who inhabit the valley share a gift for body painting and elaborate adornments borrowed from nature, and Hans Silvester has captured the results in a series of photographs made over the course of numerous trips.


Selma 1965: The Photographs of Spider Martin Cover Image
$40.00
ISBN: 9781477308394
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: University of Texas Press - October 15th, 2015

Spider Martin, more than any other photographer of our time, has used his camera to document the struggle for civil rights and social change in the State of Alabama. . . . In viewing Spider's collection, one is literally walking through the pages of American history.
John Lewis, 1996


North of Dixie: Civil Rights Photography Beyond the South Cover Image
$35.00
ISBN: 9781606065051
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: J. Paul Getty Museum - November 2016

And Still I Rise: Black America Since MLK Cover Image
$35.00
ISBN: 9780062427007
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Ecco Press - October 27th, 2015

The companion book to Henry Louis Gates, Jr.'s PBS series, And Still I Rise a timeline and chronicle of the past fifty years of black history in the U.S. in more than 350 photos.


Hip Hop Raised Me Cover Image
$65.00
ISBN: 9780500518946
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Thames & Hudson - November 15th, 2016

Hip Hop Raised Me is the definitive volume on the essence, experience, and energy that is hip hop, and its massive and enduring impact over the last forty years.