What's New In HardBacks

Thanks for browsing our hardback selection. We update this selection every week for our customers convenience. When in Los Angeles c'mon by and enjoy our independent bookshop.

Little Man, Little Man: A Story of Childhood Cover Image
$22.95
ISBN: 9781478000044
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Duke University Press - August 24th, 2018

Four-year-old TJ spends his days on his lively Harlem block playing with his best friends WT and Blinky and running errands for neighbors. As he comes of age as a "Little Man" with big dreams, TJ faces a world of grown-up adventures and realities. Baldwin's only children's book, Little Man, Little Man celebrates and explores the challenges and joys of black childhood.


Children of Blood and Bone (Legacy of Orisha #1) Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250170972
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR) - March 6th, 2018

With five starred reviews, Tomi Adeyemi’s West African-inspired fantasy debut, and instant #1 New York Times Bestseller, conjures a world of magic and danger, perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Sabaa Tahir.

They killed my mother.
They took our magic.
They tried to bury us.

Now we rise.


John Woman Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780802128416
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Atlantic Monthly Press - September 4th, 2018

A convention-defying novel by bestselling writer Walter Mosley, John Woman recounts the transformation of an unassuming boy named Cornelius Jones into John Woman, an unconventional history professor--while the legacy of a hideous crime lurks in the shadows.

At twelve years old, Cornelius, the son of an Italian-American woman and an older black man from Mississippi named Herman, secretly


An American Odyssey: The Life and Work of Romare Bearden Cover Image
$34.95
ISBN: 9780195059090
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Oxford University Press, USA - October 1st, 2018

By the time of his death in 1988, Romare Bearden was most widely celebrated for his large-scale public murals and collages, which were reproduced in such places as Time and Esquire to symbolize and evoke the black experience in America.


The Prison Letters of Nelson Mandela Cover Image
$35.00
ISBN: 9781631491177
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Liveright Publishing Corporation - July 10th, 2018

Arrested in 1962 as South Africa's apartheid regime intensified its brutal campaign against political opponents, forty-four-year-old lawyer and African National Congress activist Nelson Mandela had no idea that he would spend the next twenty-seven years in jail.


Arthur Ashe: A Life Cover Image
$37.50
ISBN: 9781439189047
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Simon & Schuster - August 21st, 2018

The first comprehensive, authoritative biography of American icon Arthur Ashe—the Jackie Robinson of men’s tennis—a pioneering athlete who, after breaking the color barrier, went on to become an influential civil rights activist and public intellectual.

Born in Richmond, Virginia, in 1943, by the age of eleven, Arthur Ashe was one of the state's most talented black tennis


What Truth Sounds Like: Robert F. Kennedy, James Baldwin, and Our Unfinished Conversation About Race in America Cover Image
$24.99
ISBN: 9781250199416
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: St. Martin's Press - June 5th, 2018

NOW A NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER Winner, The 2018 Southern Book Prize

NAMED A BEST/MOST ANTICIPATED BOOK OF 2018 BY: Chicago Tribune • Time Publisher's Weekly

A stunning follow up to New York Times bestseller Tears We Cannot Stop


Barracoon: The Story of the Last
By Zora Neale Hurston, Alice Walker (Foreword by), Deborah G. Plant (Introduction by)
$24.99
ISBN: 9780062748201
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Amistad - May 8th, 2018

New York Times Bestseller

“A profound impact on Hurston’s literary legacy.”—New York Times

“One of the greatest writers of our time.”—Toni Morrison


White Kids: Growing Up with Privilege in a Racially Divided America (Critical Perspectives on Youth) Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9781479803682
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: New York University Press - September 4th, 2018

Riveting stories of how affluent, white children learn about race

American kids are living in a world of ongoing public debates about race, daily displays of racial injustice, and for some, an increased awareness surrounding diversity and inclusion. In this heated context, sociologist Margaret A.


Backlash: What Happens When We Talk Honestly about Racism in America Cover Image
By George Yancy, Cornel West (Foreword by)
$19.95
ISBN: 9781538104057
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Rowman & Littlefield Publishers - April 15th, 2018

When George Yancy penned a New York Times op-ed entitled "Dear White America" asking white Americans to confront the ways that they benefit from racism, he knew his article would be controversial. But he was unprepared for the flood of vitriol in response.


The Heritage: Black Athletes, a Divided America, and the Politics of Patriotism Cover Image
$26.95
ISBN: 9780807026991
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Beacon Press - May 8th, 2018

Following in the footsteps of Robeson, Ali, Robinson and others, today's Black athletes re-engage with social issues and the meaning of American patriotism


Unhinged: An Insider's Account of the Trump White House Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781982109707
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Gallery Books - August 14th, 2018

#1 New York Times Bestseller

The former Assistant to the President and Director of Communications for the Office of Public Liaison in the Trump White House provides an eye-opening look into the corruption and controversy of the current administration.

Few have been a member of Donald Trump’s inner orbit longer than Omarosa Manigault Newman.


Tigerbelle: The Wyomia Tyus Story Cover Image
$27.95
ISBN: 9781617756764
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Edge of Sports - August 17th, 2018

"Wyomia Tyus may not be as well known as Wilma Rudolph or Billie Jean King, but her athletic accomplishments and life story are equally captivating, as related in this remarkable and inspiring memoir...This deeply moving book by one of our greatest athletes makes indelible statements about integrity, growing up black in the South, social activism, gender equality, and inclusion."